New president at the Conca de Tremp – Montsec UGGp

The Geopark Assembly is renewed with an increase of women in their representatives

On Wednesday, September 4, it was established the new General Assembly of partners of the UNESCO Global Geopark Conca de Tremp-Montsec.

During the meeting the members of the Board and Assembly were updated. They are representatives of the municipalities and regional councils of the territory and, in some cases, they have been modified after this year’s elections.

Thus, the main changes have occurred in the members of the Executive Board. The mayor of Tremp, Maria Pilar Cases, has been appointed as the new president of the Geopark replacing the previous mayor, Joan Ubach. The vice presidency will continue on the president of the Pallars Jussà County Council, who currently is Josep Maria Mullol. The mayor of La Pobla de Segur, Marc Baró, will be the secretary and the mayor of Àger, Mireia Burgués, the treasurer. Finally, the rest of the members in the Executive Board are  Anna Centinela, mayor of Baix Pallars; Xavier Terré,  the second vice president of the Noguera Regional Council; Martí Riera,  the mayor of Coll de Nargó, and Nuria Jaime, councilor of Vilanova de Meià.



The new body has increased the number of women on its list of representatives, one of the UNESCO and Geoparks objectives, with a current representation of 42.8% of women, one of whom is the president, as opposed to 23.8 % that was during the previous period.

These members will be responsible for ensuring the proper functioning of the Geopark Association for the new four-year period, when the first revalidation is going to occur.

The governing body of the Geopark is made up of 21 members, the 19 representatives of the municipalities that are part of this territory (all the municipalities of the Pallars Jussà, the municipality of Baix Pallars in the Pallars Sobirà, the municipality of Coll de Nargó al Alt Urgell and the municipalities of Camarasa, Vilanova de Meià and Àger in la Noguera), as well as representatives of the Pallars Jussà and La Noguera County Council.

Comments are closed.